Kyron Audio

kyronI saw this on the Ultimist web site. Kyron are another Australian company doing the DSP thing.

Vinyl-ophile Michael Fremer writes the following:

Kyron Audio’s Kronos system … is everything I can honestly say I hate about audio: the amplifiers are Class “D”, the system uses DEQX™ digital room correction and there’s enough processing going on here to befuddle a mainframe…

…what I heard from this system absolutely astonished me. There was nothing ‘digital’ about the presentation. Nothing. The top end was about as perfectly rendered as I’ve heard from all of these tracks as was the detail resolution…

…Instrumental textures and timbres were as accurate and realistically portrayed as I’ve ever heard them. The amount of true detail revealed in very familiar records was unprecedented. I swear I don’t usually blather like this as anyone who knows me can attest but there was no denying what I heard.

…I’ve never before heard the drum sound so realistic and life-like and I mean never. But that was just the start of what I heard from the many tracks I played. …”Can’t You Hear My Knocking” just about made me faint.

Can we detect a similarity between this description, and reviews of other DSP-based systems such as this and this and this?

On the Kyron Audio web site it tells us that the DEQX is used for phase correction of the speakers.

Rather than being just an equaliser however, the DEQX engine is able to simultaneously repair the timing of every frequency so that the group delay is repaired. The effect is not subtle and is just not possible in the analogue domain.

And of course it also performs the basic crossover filtering prior to a dedicated amp for each driver.

The price of the whole system? To you, $100,000. Again, this is one of those systems where the significance of the DSP is disguised amongst the ‘high endness’ and eye-watering price. Fundamentally, the DSP aspect is basically free, comprising some well-established algorithms that (as in my system) can be run on any bit of processing power lying around, like an old PC – though obviously it is much nicer to have a dedicated box like the DEQX. It is ironic that this transformative, low cost technology seems only ever to appear with ‘high end’ hardware. The implication is that while DSP correction is useful for fine tuning already-top notch hardware, using it on lesser hardware would be like putting lipstick on a pig. If so, I don’t agree. This technology reduces the requirements on the amps and drivers, allowing lower cost hardware to be a viable substitute for ultra-hardware. I think that DSP should be the first thing the designer turns to, rather than the last.

Leave a Reply

